operating Branches of the Department with headquarters in Ottawa are: Harbours and Rivers Engineering, Building Construction, Development Engineering, Property and Building Management, and Purchasing and Stores. In addition, the Fire Prevention Branch, organized in 1919 and now a part of the Department of Public Works, maintains fire-loss records, makes inspections, reports on fire protection legislation and protection methods and endeavours to extend and coordinate fire prevention work in Canada. Federal interests in the Trans-Canada Highway are also handled by the Department.

The Minister of Public Works is responsible to Parliament for the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and for the National Capital Commission.

Boyal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the Federal Government, was organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, 1959 and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with certain provincial governments, it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. The Force is controlled and administered by the Minister of Justice.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The Secretary of State and Registrar General of Canada is the official medium of communication with the Throne through the Governor General, and is the custodian of the Great Scal of Canada and of the Privy Scal of the Governor General. He is responsible for the preparation and tabling of returns in Parliament. He administers legislation relating to patents of invention, trade marks, industrial designs, timber marking, copyright, companies, boards of trade, the registration of trade unions, public officers, public documents and governmental and parliamentary translations. He is also the Custodian of Enemy Property.

The Secretary of State has certain responsibilities with respect to civilian decorations, precedence and ceremonial. The Committee on the use of Parliament Hill and the National War Memorial falls within his purview. He is the Minister of the Department of Public Printing and Stationery and the spokesman in Cabinet and Parliament for the Civil Service Commission and the Chief Electoral Officer.

The Tariff Board.—Constituted in 1931 under the Tariff Board Act (SC 1931, c. 55), the Board derives its duties and powers from three statutes: the Tariff Board Act (RSC 1952, c. 261, as amended); the Customs Act (RSC 1952, c. 58, as amended); and the Excise Tax Act (RSC 1952, c. 100, as amended).

Under the Tariff Board Act, the Board makes inquiry into and reports upon any matter in relation to goods that, if brought into Canada, are subject to or exempt from duties of customs or excise taxes. Reports of the Board are tabled in Parliament by the Minister of Finance. It is also the duty of the Board to hold an inquiry under Sect. 14 of the Customs Tariff and to inquire into any other matter in relation to the trade and commerce of Canada that the Governor in Council sees fit to refer to the Board for inquiry and report.

Under the provisions of the Customs Act and the Excise Tax Act, the Tariff Board acts as a court to hear appeals from rulings of the Department of National Revenue, Customs and Excise, in respect of excise taxes, tariff classification, value for duty, and drawback of customs duties. Declarations of the Board on appeals on questions of fact are final and conclusive but the Acts contain provisions for appeal, on questions of law, to the Exchequer Court of Canada.

Department of Trade and Commerce.—The Department of Trade and Commerce was established by Act of Parliament on June 23, 1887, but did not function until Dec. 5, 1892, when an Order in Council to this effect was passed. Before the formation of the Department, assistance in the development of Canada's external trade was provided by eight Canadian Commercial Agents—five in the West Indies, two in Great Britain and one in France—who served on a parttime basis and were responsible to the Minister of Finance. In 1895 a Canadian Commercial Agent was appointed at Sydney, Australia, as the first full-time salaried Agent of the Department.

The framework of the present Trade Commissioner Service emerged during the next decade or so, the Commercial Agents gradually giving place to career Trade Commissioners. There are now 147 Trade Commissioners serving at Headquarters and abroad in 63 posts (including Assistant Trade Commissioners and agricultural, fisheries and timber specialists). Where a Trade Commissioner is a member of a mission maintained by the Department of External Affairs he holds diplomatic status and is known as a Minister (Commercial), Commercial Counsellor or Commercial Secretary.

The Department provides a wide range of services to Canadian businessmen through the Agriculture and Fisheries Branch, the Canadian Government Exhibition Commission, the Commodities Branch, the Economics Branch, the International Trade Relations Branch, the Trade Commissioner Service, the Trade Publicity Branch and the Domestic Commerce Service; the latter comprises the Depreciation Certification Branch, the Industrial Design Branch, the Industrial Development Branch, the Small Business Branch and the Standards Branch.